Open Modal

Caveman Radio SkillsUSA students earn professional certification

Cave City High School students who are members of the local SkillsUSA organization and are enrolled in the Caveman Radio Broadcasting program recently took the Society of Broadcast Engineers (SBE) “Certified Radio Operators” exam.  

These students spent most of their first semester in the Caveman Radio program studying for the exam.  This is a professional assessment offered by the SBE for broadcasting professionals who wish to obtain a certification that is recognized industry-wide.

Caveman Radio instructor Ben Johnson is a certified test administrator for the SBE and offers the opportunity for Caveman Radio students to obtain this certification as part of the Cave City High School radio broadcasting class.

“Students are also members of the local SkillsUSA program and this exam and certification is part of the curriculum for both radio class and SkillsUSA,” said Johnson. “The theme for the career technical program is ‘Job Ready, Day One.  This certification, along with the experience students get in the Cave City High program, provides them with the skills and professional certification that does indeed make them ‘Job Ready, Day One.’”

The SBE exam is an updated version of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Radio-Telephone Operators (RTO) Exam that used to be given to applicants who desired an FCC RTO license to work at a broadcast radio station.  The FCC deregulated the need for that license but the SBE continued the exam for professional certification.

The Cave City students who earned certification include: Dawson Allen, Kyle Branscum, Ethan Brashers, Noah Brooks, Erica Chappell, Steven Cothrine, Gracie Eddy, Jackson Engle, Cameron Harvey, Tristin Higginbottom, Caleb Martin, Ky McFarlin, Cole Mitchell, Joseph Ragsdale, Destiny Snow, Kelly Stephens, and Levi Verser.

Cave CityFrom left:  Ethan Brashers, Tristen Higginbottom, Joseph Ragsdale, Noah Brooks, Erica Chappell, Levi Verser, Kelly Stephens, Ky McFarlin, Gracie Eddy, Caleb Martin and Steven Cothrine  Not pictured:  Jackson Engle, Cameron Harvey, Destiny Snow, Cole Mitchell, Dawson Allen and Kyle Branscum / Image submitted

Recommended Posts