Open Modal

Saltzman Scholarship recipients announced

The Batesville Community Theater and the Batesville Area Arts Council (BAAC) have announced this year’s recipients of the John & Donna Saltzman Scholarships.

The John & Donna Saltzman Award is given to a graduating senior from both Batesville and Southside High School, who have shown outstanding performance in the arts and humanities, according to a press release from BAAC.

John & Donna Saltzman were proponents of all of the arts and worked with students and adults in the community for over twenty years. “Their devotion to theater and the arts set them apart in the fast-paced world in which we live,” the release noted. “We are proud to honor the Saltzmans by supporting two outstanding students that have exemplified good citizenship and remarkable accomplishments in the arts.”

Jonathan Clark (pictured above, right) is this year’s Batesville High School recipient. Clark’s nominators highlighted his achievements in academics and his involvement BHS Drama Club, Batesville Community Theatre, and BHS band. BHS English teacher, Amber Barnett, describes Clark as “an all-around wonderful individual with a true passion for both writing and acting. His enthusiasm is contagious, and I have witnessed firsthand him inspiring others to get involved in the arts as well.” Jonathan plans to attend Arkansas State University in the fall to study journalism and Theatre.

Kori Denison (pictured, left) is this year’s Southside High School recipient. The nominations for Denison emphasized her extensive involvement in choir at Southside High School as well as with the community theatre. SSHS choir director Angie Weaver, says that Kori “is highly motivated, creative and is an outstanding student in all respects. She has learned the fine art of time management as is shown by her involvement in multiple activities.” Denison is planning to major in theatre at Arkansas State University in the fall. “She truly wants to be on stage performing or directing theatre as a career. What better way to honor John Saltzman, who gave so much of himself to the community theatre and to providing young people with exposure to the stage,” states Weaver.

Recommended Posts