Open Modal

Stone County Medical Center’s Langston receives UAMS award

Mandy Langtson (pictured), pharmacy supervisor at Stone County Medical Center (SCMC) and pharmacy billing and clinical informatics analyst for White River Medical Center (WRMC), was recently presented with the Director’s Choice Award from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) Institute for Digital Health and Innovation Stroke Program. Langston received the award during the Annual Stroke Conference in Hot Springs.

This award is given to honor and recognize an individual dedicated to excellence and who has gone above and beyond to provide access to care in our most rural communities, according to a release from WRMC.

Langston advocated for fair drug pricing for her community in Mountain View and other communities like hers. Her dedication to this topic brought to light critical access hospital equity issues related to the federal drug discount 340B program.

As a result of her voicing questions and concerns to federal policy leaders, a National Public Radio station conducted an in-depth review which highlighted how access to certain medication, like Activase, a stroke drug, in rural America is not the same as in urban areas. Langston’s dedication is providing easier access to those who would not have access to these medications otherwise, the release noted.

“It was such an honor to be recognized by Renee Joiner for receiving the first and only Director’s Choice award from the UAMS Arkansas Saves stroke program. The program is near and dear to my heart,” said Langston. “Arkansas is the only state in the entire country to have a collaborative telemedicine stroke program. Rural hospitals struggle to stock the lifesaving med Activase due to the disparity in pricing between rural and urban areas. It was the least I could do to bring the issue to light so this drug would be available to all who need it.”

Langston graduated from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) with a doctorate of pharmacy degree. Mandy has worked at SCMC as pharmacy supervisor for 11 years. She serves on the Physician Satisfaction Committee and Medical Staff Committee at SCMC.

Image via SCMC

Recommended Posts