Open Modal

Leo Sutterfield inducted into Arkansas Agriculture Hall of Fame

Leo Sutterfield, who passed away in 2017, is one of the six new inductees to the Arkansas Agriculture Hall of Fame.

Sutterfield, of Mountain View, was a cattleman, a businessman, and an advocate for his hometown and the rural areas of Arkansas. He served nine years as chairman of the Arkansas Beef Council and was an Arkansas representative on the Cattlemen’s Beef Board.

He served 15 years on the Arkansas Farm Bureau state board of directors, chairing the beef commodity division, and guiding the organization’s audit committee.

Sutterfield served as market president for First Service Bank in Mountain View for 12 years, having been instrumental in opening the bank in 2005. Prior to that, he was on the staff of the Bank of Mountain View, where he served as vice-president for 10 years.

He was previously a partner in a True Value Hardware Store in Mountain View for 13 years. He also operated his own tax and bookkeeping service. He also served as fiscal director for the Ozark Folk Center State Park when it first opened. And Sutterfield also taught math at Mountain View and Fifty-Six schools.

Sutterfield was instrumental in bringing municipal water to his rural community through establishment of the Richwoods Water Association. He also helped form the Dodd Mountain Volunteer Fire Department. He was president of the Stone County Medical Center Advisory Board, and a member of the White River Health System Board.

He was instrumental in securing funding for the construction of the Stone County Recreation Complex and the public library. He served as finance chairman for the Arkansas Craft School and was a past president of the Mountain View Chamber of Commerce. He was also a board member of the Stone County Abuse Prevention Center.

In 2005, Sutterfield was honored as a Distinguished Citizen by the Mountain View Chamber of Commerce.

The McCallister-Sutterfield Farm was designated as an Arkansas Century Farm during the program’s first year in 2012.

Other inductees include Jane Ross of Arkadelphia, Gene Sullivan of Lonoke, Thomas Vaughns of Marianna, William E. (Gene) Woodall of Little Rock, and George Tidwell of Lonoke. Induction ceremonies will be held Friday, March 6, at the Embassy Suites ballroom in Little Rock.

Layout 1Get up-to-date local and regional news along with the latest sports and weather every weekday morning by listening to Gary B. and Ozark Newsline on Arkansas 103.3 KWOZWhite River Now updates are also broadcast weekday mornings on 93 KZLEOutlaw 106.5, and 99.5 Hits Now. If you have a news tip or event to promote, email White River Now at news@whiterivernow.comBe sure to like and follow White River Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Recommended Posts