Open Modal

Obituary: Helen Marie Carpenter Measels

Helen Marie (Whittington) McClellan Carpenter Measels, of Pleasant Plains, passed away on Wednesday, Feb. 17, 2021, in Batesville, AR at the age of 87.

Helen was born Feb. 4, 1934, in Harold, AR to the late Henry Clay Whittington and Annie Mae (Bradford) Whittington.

She enjoyed writing, even having a poem published in “Highlights” for children. She was the president of the women’s club at Eastside Christian Church.

She hosted all the family’s social gatherings at her home on Cherry St. in Pine Bluff, AR. She loved interior decorating. She always brought out the beauty of the home. Helen was of Christian faith and attended church at the Assembly of God in Pleasant Plains, AR. Helen wanted to leave everyone with the following words:  “God has always been the wind beneath my wings, and one of God’s Earth Angels went home”

Helen is preceded in death by both her parents; her husband, Carlton Wilson Measels; her brother, L.D. Whittington; her sister, Junie Elois Thomas; and her son, Jerry Lee McClellan. She is survived by her sons:  Danny Ray McClellan of Monticello, AR, Joseph Edward McClellan of Pleasant Plains, AR, and Mark Hughes Measels of Douglasville, GA; her daughters, Brenda Kay Speakman of Sulphur Rock, AR, Sandra Lynn Finley of Cave City, AR, and Karla Doris Marie Johnson of Batesville, AR; her sister, Mary Elsie Freeland of Atlanta, GA; 19 grandchildren; 40 great-grandchildren; and four great-great-grandchildren.

Services are entrusted to Willis Funeral Service of Batesville, AR. There will be a visitation on Tuesday, Feb. 23, 2021, at Willis Funeral Service Chapel from 5 p.m.-7 p.m.

All CDC Guidelines for Covid-19 will be in place and masks must be worn.

Helen’s funeral service will be held under the pavilion at Center Point Cemetery in Hazen, AR on Wednesday, Feb. 24, 2021, at 2 p.m. with burial to follow.

Honored to serve as pallbearers will be Matthew Speakman, Jeff Bailey, Adam Garcia, Chris Ethridge, Kaleb McClellan, and Kyle Lytle. The family would like to recognize the following as honorary pallbearers:  Gifford Bailey, Zach McClellan, Mason Dittmar, Garrett Leininger, and Nova Leininger.

Recommended Posts