Open Modal

WRHS second class of medical residents named

White River Health System (WRHS) has announced the second class of 10 medical residents for the Internal Medicine (IM) Residency Program. The residents began their training on campus July 1. The program accepts 10 medical residents each year for a total of 30 residents during the three-year program.  

White River Medical Center (WRMC) in Batesville is the primary inpatient training facility for the program. Members of the WRMC medical staff in the specialties of cardiology, emergency medicine, internal medicine, neurology, oncology/mematology, pulmonology, and rheumatology provide educational support and training to residents. Members of the UAMS medical staff provide education and training in the fields of endocrinology, gastroenterology, geriatrics, and nephrology.

Once a physician graduates medical school, they can apply for residency at an Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)-accredited program such as WRHS.  Once accepted, the residents will go through a three to four year period of medical training and education in their specialty field. After the residents have completed the program, they are eligible to take a specialty board exam and practice independently in that specialty of medicine.

The 2018 class of IM Residents, their hometown, and medical school are: Michael Andryka, Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine; Ankitha Antony, Franklin Square, New York, Amrita School of Medicine; Sai Desikan, Batesville, Arkansas, Ross University School of Medicine; Ebonee Dikas, Houston, Texas, University of Texas Medical Branch; Igor Dykan, Portland, Oregon, Oregon Health & Science University School of Medicine; Shoaib Khan, Chicago, Illinois, Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University; Eddie Liu, Cookeville, Tennessee, East Tennessee State University James H Quillen College of Medicine; Wyatt Lydolph, Brandon, Mississippi, University of Mississippi School of Medicine; Krishna Vedala, Edmond, Oklahoma, University of Oklahoma School of Medicine; and Shifang “David” Wang, Indianapolis, Indiana, Indiana University School of Medicine.   

“We are eager to have the second class of Internal Medicine Residents on campus,” said Gary Bebow, WRHS CEO.  “I am very proud that these 10 physicians chose to further their education at WRHS.”

Recommended Posts