Open Modal

Early voting begins Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2020

The 2020 election cycle for the Preferential Primary begins Tuesday with the opening of early vote polling sites in Batesville at the Batesville Community Center & Aquatics Center and in Southside at the new Southside City Hall building. 

Polls open at 8:00 a.m. and close at 6:00 p.m. during the week and open two Saturdays from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Monday, March 2nd, the polls close at 5 p.m. with Election Day on Tuesday.

The Southside City Hall is a new site that is across the street from the Southside Fire Department where Early Vote and Election Day voting has been held lately.  The Batesville Community Center has been used for voting since the center opened.

“Early voting is becoming more and more popular each election cycle,” said Charlie Morris, Independence County Co-Election Coordinator. 

“The ease of dropping by either site is convenient for voters helping avoid any long lines on Election Day. Plus, you have two whole weeks to vote.  I have always encouraged voters to take advantage of it. Our poll workers at both sites are also very experienced and knowledgeable about the election process. Voters will also be asked which party primary ballot they wish to vote on and will be asked for photo ID as well.”

Morris added both the Democrat and Republican ballots are thinned of local races.  He said voters will vote for a Republican or Democratic presidential candidate along with a state supreme court justice.  Locally, there are two Republican constable races in the county along with one Republican justice of the peace matchup.

Cedar Ridge millage with a zone five school board race, Concord millage, Midland millage, and Southside millage are on the ballot in their respective school districts. 

None of those schools are asking for an increase, but they have to vote each year with their current millage and remains the same even if it is voted down.

Actual Election Day is Tuesday, March 3 when polls open countywide at 7:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m.  Morris said another release will be published prior to Election Day explaining the new countywide vote center concept.

Cathy Drew is the other Co-Election Coordinator for the county and the Independence County Election Commission consists of Darrell Hays, Lea Barber, and Randy Seale.

Any additional information about the voting process or if you need to see if you are currently registered to vote can be answered by the County Clerk’s Office at 793-8828. 

Voters may also go online at the Arkansas Secretary State Office by going to and click on “Voter View” to see if you are currently registered to vote and see your particular sample ballot. 

Layout 1Get up-to-date local and regional news along with the latest sports and weather every weekday morning by listening to Gary B. and Ozark Newsline on Arkansas 103.3 KWOZWhite River Now updates are also broadcast weekday mornings on 93 KZLEOutlaw 106.5, and 99.5 Hits Now. If you have a news tip or event to promote, email White River Now at news@whiterivernow.comBe sure to like and follow White River Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Recommended Posts